Santa Cruz Island

  • Santa Cruz Island

    Next to Isabela Island, Santa Cruz Island is the second largest island in the archipelago of Galapagos. It lies in the center of the archipelago and is called Indefatigable Island.

    Santa Cruz Island is the only island in Galapagos where 6 vegetation zones are found. these are Coastal, Transition, Arid, Scalesia, Pampa and Miconia Zones.

    Santa Cruz is also the capital of human activity in Galapagos because here are located the Darwin Research Station, National Park Headquarters, and Puerto Ayora (The largest settlement in Galapagos). To be exact, all of them are situated on Academy Bay, southern part of Santa Cruz Island.

    The island has also several dive spots you can visit.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

WhatsApp Chat